Sounds from the Detroit Zoo circa 1959

I ran across this old zoo record.  I actually played it.  It was fun  to listen to, though the narration’s a bit hokey.  My Aunt Mary and my brother Matt worked at the zoo on Belle Isle.  Some are against the animals being locked up.  I have some mixed feelings about it.  They’re not all bad.  Zoologists can help keep endangered species alive.  Zoos have their charms, when they’re done right.

I especially liked the old zoo, the children’s zoo and the aquarium on Belle Isle, here in Detroit.  The Belle Isle Zoos are mostly gone.  The aquarium is opened one day a year, then closed again.  It happens to be today, February 4, 2012!  By the time I’m off work, it’ll be closed.  Maybe I’ll get to it next year.  There is something called the Belle Isle Nature Zoo.

I’d go to the Detroit Zoo as a kid.  I remember that old red zoo key.  You used it to turn on talking boxes.  They’d tell you about the animals.

Zoo History stuff:

http://www.detroitzoo.org/About/About_the_Zoo/Detroit_Zoological_Society

The old Zoo Key:

http://detroitkidshow.com/Detroit_Zoo_Key.htm

Belle Isle Aquarium:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belle_Isle_Aquarium

The Belle Isle Nature Zoo:

http://www.detroitzoo.org/Visitors/Nature_Center/Belle_Isle_Nature_Zoo

4 Responses to “Sounds from the Detroit Zoo circa 1959”

  1. Detroit’s Children’s Zoo on Belle Isle « Adventures and Resources Says:

    […] https://maugre22.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/sounds-from-the-detroit-zoo-circa-1959/ […]

  2. site zoophilie Says:

    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  3. artremedy20 Says:

    Thanks. I write a wide ranging series of blogs on art, music and movies. This is my “catch-all” or general blog. Here I do some personal stuff, some political-social and some on history/ Detroit history. Just keep working to be a good writer, put some images in sometimes and do your research. I only do 2 to 5 posts a month. Did you see my other Detroit Zoo post here:

    https://maugre22.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/detroits-childrens-zoo-on-belle-isle/

  4. video vraiment vexy Says:

    Hey there, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your blog in Firefox, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

