Puppets on the Loose

Photo by Jennifer Gariepy

A week ago, on September 14, 2012, I finally got to do a puppet show at the Detroit Institute of Arts!  It went well and was a lot of fun.  It was also some hard work.  The old man of the mountain was the emcee.  He soldiered on, despite being bit by the rattle snake (“Bite! Bite! Bite!).  The duck family did their lovely rendition of the Blue Danube Waltz.  There was singing and fighting galore.  This was also the debut of a new puppet stage.  I used a row of old neckties as the curtain.

In 2008, I exhibited my puppets at the library of the University of Detroit Mercy.  This is my “day job.”  I’ve put  together many exhibits here.  There was also information on puppet lore and history.  Here’s a post that I did about this:

https://maugre22.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/my-2008-puppet-exhibit/

These photos depict my puppet collection en masse.  Once removed from my puppet refrigerator,  they assembled on my living room couch.  Then, they were packed up in boxes.  This was in January of this year.  Hopefully they’ll get out and about for further performances, and soon.

Leave a Reply

