My Text Collection

midjuly 008also

This box contains a collection of notes written over a forty-year period.

I’ve written things on small pieces of paper since I was in my late teens.  Recently, I started putting most of them all in one box.

I call these my texts or my text.

Sorting these will be one of my Winter projects.  Some will go right to trash or recycling.  Some will go in the treasure pile.  There are sure to be some strong winners.

These include the well-written bits, especially the fully formed poems.  I’m sure there will also be fragments of poems or plays and ideas for poems or plays.

Some will help me to place my history.  If I wrote down what I was doing and dated it, it can help me to reconstruct bits of my life.

There’ll be a lot of scribbled down quotations and things that I copied from books.  Then there are the phrases and ideas that pop into my head.  If they’re worthy, I try to write them down before I forget them.

There might even be a few drawings.

These texts account for a very small portion of my written works.  I have thirty or forty blank books which are filling up.

The pen and pencil are both essential.  The manual typewriter and the word processor have been my steady companions and worthy tools.  Then too, there are all these blog posts.  I have many works in progress.

I feel a strange compulsion to write.

Leave a Reply

