My Library Exhibits at the University of Detroit Mercy

From a 2007 exhibit detailing the history of the art and theatre at Detroit's

From a 2007 exhibit detailing the history of the art and theatre at Detroit’s “Zeitgeist.” The painting here is by Jacques Karamanoukian.

I work at the library on the McNichols campus of the University of Detroit Mercy.  I’m responsible for a great many jobs, including book repair.  Since 2001 or 2002, I’ve assembled some 20 to 40 exhibitions here.  One of the “fun parts” of my work is to assemble and install these displays.

First I go through the collection here at the library.  I often find good materials there.  Then I also go through my own collections.  When I do that, I need to carry it all on the bus.  Once I had to spend thirty minutes standing up on a crowded bus with a heavy framed drawing.  I’ve had to lug a lot of books and other objects back and forth.

Sometimes I’ve borrowed materials from friends and acquaintances.

I loved doing the 2007 show on the history of the Detroit’s Zeitgeist art space.  It was a lot of work though.  I’ve had several art exhibits here including a strong group show and a solo exhibit by Jennifer Gariepy.

In 2002 I had a huge solo exhibit of my own work.  I had a concurrent solo exhibit at the Zeitgeist as well.  George Tysh came and interviewed me and I had a full-page article in the Detroit Metro Times.

Of all the exhibits I’ve done here, that was the most “press” I’ve received.

In 2002, my friend Jacques Karamanoukian died.  Later that year, I did a memorial show for him, including a lot of his artwork and writings by and about him.

Part of a

Part of a “Black History Month” display in 2007.

Most years, I’ve put together exhibits for Women’s History Month and African-American History Month.  We also do an annual exhibit for Constitution Day.

There have been a number of exhibits honoring Dudley Randall and Detroit’s Broadside Press.  Some of these I helped with and some I didn’t.  I remember Randall from when I was an undergraduate here.  He was a librarian at this library.

Recently, I did an exhibit of books from the library’s collection.  Here, I tried to include books from nearly every category and interest.  In the past, I’ve done exhibits of art books, of photography books and of children’s books.

Early on, I did an exhibit on what not to do to books.  I included nearly everything bad which can happen to a book.  There were books that had been damaged by water.  There were books attacked by pets and by children.  There were examples of underlining and dog-earing.  One book had been ripped into two pieces and was captioned The Complete Edgar Allan Poe, in Two Parts.

I did a generic all music exhibit, including a lot of album covers.  I did a wide-ranging cinema exhibit too.  It got a nice write-up in the events listings at the Detroit Metro Times.

From my 2008 Puppet Exhibit.

From my 2008 Puppet Exhibit.

One of my favorite exhibits was my puppet exhibit.  I showed most of my personal puppet collection.  There were also books, articles and pictures which explored the history of puppetry.

https://maugre22.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/my-2008-puppet-exhibit/

Another detailed and expansive exhibit was The Wild Imagination at Play from 2010.  This dealt with overlaps and intersections between newspaper cartoons and film animation.  It featured such favorite as Popeye and Winsor McCay’s Little Nemo in Slumberland.  Though there, it went into the history and methods of both printed and cinematic cartoons.

https://artremedy20.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/the-wild-imagination-at-play/

From a 2008 Exhibit.

From a 2008 Exhibit.

There was an interesting chemistry exhibit which I put together with the UDM chemistry department.

There was an exhibition remembering the events of September 11, 2001.

I’m sure that there were interesting shows that I’m just not remembering.  I’m trying to assemble a complete chronological listing.

I’ve started a series of exhibits detailing Detroit’s cultural history.  In 2014 I did a history of Detroit’s visual arts scene.  This was fairly extensive and expanded into a facebook page and a series of blog posts.

https://maugre22.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/a-history-of-detroits-visual-arts-scene-july-11-through-august-22-2014/

This was the first of a series.  This year I had a 3 month-long Summer show celebrating the Detroit poetry scene and my own poetry and art zine, The Poetic Express.

https://artremedy20.wordpress.com/2015/06/17/the-poetic-express-take-two-the-30th-anniversary-exhibition/

It’s hard to get people out to see a Summer show, even if it’s up for three or four months.  Next year I plan on doing a history of Detroit’s cinema/motion picture scene including the Detroit Film Theatre, Jam Handy, Cass City Cinema and more.

Also in the works are show on Detroit music and a further exploration of Detroit’s poetry scene.  Get by if you can.

One Response to “My Library Exhibits at the University of Detroit Mercy”

  1. Work History, Part Three | Adventures and Resources Says:

    […] https://maugre22.wordpress.com/2015/09/30/my-library-exhibits-at-the-university-of-detroit-mercy/ […]

Leave a Reply

